thecuriouskiwi

Food, Wine and Beer Festivals


A list of food, wine and beer festivals - follow this festival link for a list of all festivals around NZ.

September

BMW Oktoberfest (Auckland)

Beer & Bacon Festival (Auckland) www.sweatshopbrew.co.nz New

CHB The Festival (Hawkes Bay) www.thefestival.org.nz

FermentFest (Hamilton, moved from October to September) www.waikatofoodinc.com

Otahuhu Ethnic Food Festival (Auckland) www.foodfestival.co.nz

Pinot Palooza (festival of pinot noir in Auckland) Facebook New

Port Chalmers Seafood Festival www.festival.portchalmers.com (returns 2017)

The Coffee & Chocolate Show (Auckland) www.chocolatecoffeeshow.co.nz

Vegan Vibes (Mount Maunganui)

Whitianga Scallop Festival www.scallopfestival.co.nz


October

Akaroa French Festival www.akaroa.com

Festival Italiano (Newmarket, Auckland) www.festivalitaliano.co.nz

it! Bay of Islands Food & Wine Festival paihianz.co.nz

JFC Food & Sake Expo (Auckland) www.asbshowgrounds.co.nz New

Mexfestival (Auckland) www.mexfestival.com

Matakana Oyster & Wine Festival www.matakanaoysterfest.co.nz New

NZ Cheese Month (nationwide) www.nzsa.org.nz

Okere Falls Beer Fest (Rotorua) www.okerefallsstore.co.nz

Oktoberfest (Wellington) www.oktoberfest.co.nz

Rosebank Oktoberfest (Christchurch)

Seafest (Kaikoura) www.seafest.co.nz

The Shakespeare Brewery's Annual Oktoberfest (Auckland)

Vegan Expo (Christchurch) www.vegetarianchristchurch.org.nz

Waiheke Island of Wine Expo (Auckland) www.waihekewine.co.nz

Westport Whitebait Festival www.westcoast.co.nz New

Whitebait Festival Haast www.westcoast.co.nz New


November

Art in the Olives Festival www.telegraphhill.co.nz (Hastings) part of F.A.W.C. New

Blues, Brews & BBQs (Blenheim) (may return 2017)

Budburst Natural Wine & Food Festival (Wellington) www.budburst.nz New

Dunedin Craft Beer & Food Festival www.dunedinbeerfest.co.nz

FAWC - Food & Wine Classic (Hawkes Bay) www.fawc.co.nz

Kapiti Coast Festival (incorporating Mary Potter Hospice Strawberry Festival) kapiticoastfestival.nz New

New Zealand Cider Festival (Nelson) www.nzciderfestival.com New

Rising Can Festival (Whitianga) www.hotwaterbrewingco.com

Taste of Auckland www.tasteofauckland.co.nz

Te Matuku Oyster Festival iticket (Waiheke Island) New

The Federal Street Festival (Auckland)

Toast Martinborough Wine, Food & Music Festival www.toastmartinborough.co.nz

Waiheke Olive & Artisan Food Festival (no festival 2016) www.waihekeolivefestival.co.nz


December

Christchurch/South Island Wine & Food Festival www.winefestival.co.nz

Kapiti Food Fair www.kapitifoodfair.net

Waimate Strawberry Fare www.waimatestrawberryfare.co.nz


January

Auckland Seafood Festival www.aucklandseafoodfestival.co.nz

Bridge Pa Wine Festival (Hawkes Bay)

Beast of a Feast (Mt Maunganui) New

Central Otago Pinot Noir Celebration (Queenstown) www.pinotcelebration.co.nz (returns 2018)

Cromwell Cherry Festival www.centralotagonz.com

Cromwell Food & Wine Festival www.cromwell.org.nz

Great FitzRoy Mussel Fest (Great Barrier Island) www.thebarrier.co.nz

Raglan Arts Weekend and Little Food Fest www.raglanartscentre.co.nz

Rotorua Summer Seafood Festival Facebook

Sarau Festival (Upper Moutere) www.saraufestival.co.nz

Summer Beer Festival Queenstown New

Tairua School Wine & Food Festival www.tairuawineandfood.co.nz

The Great Kiwi Beer Festival (Christchurch) www.greatkiwibeerfestival.co.nz


February

Beer Day Out (Hastings) New

Clevedon Jazz, Wine & Food Festival Facebook

Coromandel Mussel Festival www.musselkitchen.co.nz New

Greater Wellington Brew Day (Upper Hutt) www.brewday.co.nz

International Kai Festival (Nelson) www.itson.co.nz

Kawhia Kai Festival

Maketu Kaimoana Festival www.maketukaimoana.co.nz (no festival 2017) (Camping & Kaimoana in Maketu blog post)

Marlborough Wine & Food Festival (Blenheim) www.wine-marlborough-festival.co.nz

Nelson Wine and Food Festival www.bwff.co.nz

North West Wine, Beer & Food Festival (The Hunting Lodge, Waimauku, Auckland) New

Sunshine and a Plate Food Festival (Whakatane) www.sunshineandaplate.nz

The Great Out West Brew Fest (? 2017)

Twizel Salmon & Wine Festival www.twizel.info

Wine & Food Wind Down (Blenheim) Facebook New


March

Auckland Coffee Festival www.aucklandcoffeefestival.co.nz

Beer Appreciation Day (Havelock North) www.beerappreciationday.co.nz

Beer Day Out (Hastings) New

CheeseFest (Auckland) www.cheeselovers.co.nz (returns 2018)

Chocol'Art Festival (Wairarapa) (returns 2017?) Facebook

Gibbston Wine & Food Festival (Queenstown Gardens) www.gibbstonwineandfood.co.nz

Harcourts Mangere Bridge Food & Wine Festival Facebook

Havelock Mussel & Seafood Festival www.havelockmusselfestival.co.nz

Heritage Harvest Festival (Riverton) www.sces.org.nz

Hokitika Wild Food Festival www.wildfoods.co.nz

Kegkoura Craft Beer Festival (Kaikoura) www.emporiumbrewing.co.nz New

Mangawhai Food & Wine Festival www.mangawhai.co.nz

MarchFest (Nelson) www.marchfest.com

Matakana Wine, Beer & Food Festival

North Canterbury Wine & Food Festival www.ncwineandfood.co.nz

The Oyster Festival (Auckland) www.theculpeper.co.nz New

Wairarapa Wines Harvest Festival www.wairarapaharvestfestival.co.nz

Wellington Wine, Food & Craft Beer Festival www.wineandfoodfestival.co.nz

Whangarei Fritter Festival Facebook

Whiskey Galore's Dramfest (Christchurch) (returns 2018) www.dramfest.co.nz


April

A Taste of Matarangi www.atasteofmatarangi.co.nz

Akaroa Harvest Festival www.akaroa.com

Auckland Indonesian Festival www.aucklandindonesianfestival.com

Better Food Fair, part of Go Green Expo (Auckland) www.gogreenexpo.co.nz New

Clyde Wine & Food Festival www.promotedunstan.org.nz

Craft Beer Capital Hopstock (Wellington)

Food Show (Christchurch) www.foodshow.co.nz

Hop'N'Vine Craft Beer, Wine & Food Festival (Invercargill) www.hopnvine.co.nz New

Pie, Pint & Pinot (part of Arrowtown Autumn Festival) www.arrowtownautumnfestival.org.nz

SOBA Mountain Ales Craft Beer Festival (Taranaki), see SOBA Taranaki

The Great Pumpkin Carnival (Hamilton) www.thegreatpumpkincarnival.co.nz

Vegan Food Fair (Auckland)

Waiheke Island Wine & Food Festival www.festival.waihekewine.co.nz


May

Bluff Oyster & Food Festival www.bluffoysterfest.co.nz

Coromandel Seafood Fest Facebook

Food Show (Wellington) www.foodshow.co.nz

NZ Hot Sauce Festival (Auckland) www.sweatshopbrew.co.nz New

The Great NZ Food Show (Hamilton) www.greatnzfoodshow.co.nz

June

Auckland Beer Week auckland.beer/week New

FAWC - Food & Wine Classic (June/July Hawke's Bay) www.fawc.co.nz

GABS Beer, Cider & Food Festival (Auckland) www.gabsfestival.com

NZ Boutique Wine Festival (Auckland) www.boutiquewine.co.nz

Okere Falls Store Strong Beer Festival (Rotorua) www.okerefallsstore.co.nz or Facebook

Winetopia (Auckland) www.winetopia.nz

July

A Mid Winter's Ale Festival (Rolleston, 22kms from Christchurch) www.canterburybeerfestival.co.nz

Bastille Day Street Festival (Remuera, Auckland)

Cadbury Chocolate Carnival (Dunedin) www.chocolatecarnival.co.nz

Canterbury Truffle Festival www.canterburytrufflefestival.nz

Edible Fashion Awards (Hastings) www.ediblefashionawards.co.nz

FAWC - Food & Wine Classic (June/July in Hawke's Bay) www.fawc.co.nz

Food Show (Auckland) www.foodshow.co.nz

Gizzy (Gisborne) Food Month Facebook

Tauranga Coffee Festival Facebook New

The Seriously Good Food Show (Tauranga) www.seriouslygoodfoodshow.co.nz

Winetopia (Wellington) www.winetopia.nz

Winter Ales Festival (Wellington) www.craftbeercapital.com


August

Beervana (Wellington) www.beervana.co.nz

Chocolate Festival (Wellington) (? 2017) www.chocolatefestival.co.nz

Le French Festival (Auckland) www.frenchfestival.nz New

Onam Vegetarian Festival (part of Restaurant Month in Auckland) www.iticket.co.nz New

Restaurant Month (Auckland) www.heartofthecity.co.nz

Tutukaka Coast Boutique Beer Festival

Visa Wellington On a Plate www.wellingtononaplate.com

Wine & Food Celebration (Auckland) www.event.foodandwine.co.nz


go to top